Sussex Concerts

Concert Details

Promoted by: St. Leonard’s Church, Seaford
Time: Saturday, 27 May 2017, at 1:00pm
Place: St Leonard’s Church, Seaford
Description: Practicall Musicke have taken part in these lunchtime concerts on a number of occasions. The group always aims to include music which has immediate appeal, as well as that which is more cerebral. Unfamiliar repertoire is especially favoured. Instruments played can include viols, violin, recorder, organ/harpsichord and voice.

Cornelia Rogers studied Early Music at the Hochschule für Musik in Würzburg, Germany and Trinity College of Music, London. She subsequently trained as a teacher with the British Suzuki Institute and is currently employed with the East Sussex Music Service as a peripatetic music teacher.

Maurice Rogers read music at King’s College, London. He was then employed by a number of music publishers before becoming Deputy Editor of the 66 vol-ume Catalogue of Music in the British Library. J.B. Cramer published his edition of Erik Satie’s piano music in two volumes and he has self published several important additions to the viol consort repertoire.

David Force read Music as an organ scholar at the University of Durham; he subsequently gained an MA in Musicology and is currently researching for a PhD in seventeenth century English domestic music. An experienced orchestral and choral conductor, he combines a full time academic teaching post with his freelance work performing on organ and harpsichord with several period instrument ensembles.

Ruth Force studied Education as a choral scholar at the University of Durham. A winner of the prestigious Bernarr Rainbow Award for music education, she has been involved in developing the National Foundation for Youth Musicʼs work in primary schools. An experienced solo singer, she has also cowritten and directed childrenʼs music theatre projects. Ruth is Deputy Head-teacher at Barcombe CE School in East Sussex and performs with several choirs and ensembles.

A. Holborne (1599-1657):
The Honie-suckle - Patiencia - Heigh ho holiday - The Fairie-round
J. Hilton (1599-1657):
Preludio - Wilt thou forgive that sin where I begun?
W. Lawes (1602-45): Gather ye rosebuds while ye may
W. Corbett (c.1670-1748):
Sonata prima (Preludio adagio - Corrente vivace - Adagio - Gigue presto)
R. Ramsey (d.1644): Thou may’st be proud
J. Wilson (1595-1674): In the merry month of May
W. Corbett:
Sonata secunda
(Adagio staccato - Allemande allegro - Adagio - Gavotta presto)
G.B. Buonamente (d.1642): Sinfonie - Gagliarda
T. O’Carolan (1670-1738) arr. Rogers:
Si Bheag Si Mhor - O’Reilly of Athcarne - Dr. John Stafford (Carolan’s Receipt)
Tickets: The Concert lasts approximately an hour has free admission with a retiring collection
Contact: John Baker

Website by Fonant.